Calligraphy and Drop Caps

These three decorative letters or drop caps were inspired by more of my Dover clip art collections. I used a 1.75-inch square and then drew up the main elements and erased the square.

WindowsDropCaps

I made a mistake in the calligraphy and had to gesso over it several times to hide it. Calligraphy is always a humbling experience for me; my spacing was not perfect either. The Pilot Parallel pen I have was too thick so a friend offered to send me this Pilot pen which has a stub nib and it was the perfect size for this project.

Alas, not perfect, but it was fun getting some practice in.

I can see myself plugging away at more decorative letters and making a series of it. I used my new softcover Zeta sketchbook, and I love that paper.

Materials I used:

Faber-Castell Albrecht Durer watercolour pencils
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Winsor & Newton gouache
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s Lexington Gray ink
Pilot 78G pen with Noodler’s Blue Upon the Plains of Abraham ink for the calligraphy
mechanical pencil

This entry was posted in General Sketchbook and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calligraphy and Drop Caps

  1. I love the kitty, and am especially impressed by the drop cap S – I always struggle doing S’s in double thickness, when I’ve done up simple stuff for the kids ๐Ÿ™‚ And as a Mac user, I totally agree with the sentiment, too ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • Thanks Chloe! My kitty was based on one in a decorative letter in a Dover slip art book. Mine was slightly bigger and had a goofier expression and I made some modification to the “W”–you know hand drawing based on something is always slightly different, plus mine was bigger.

      When I turned 50 I had planned to get a Mac but when I was 48 I was asked to take some courses for work and I needed Windows to communicate with the teacher and other students. (Which bummed me out because the place I worked refused to pay me the full price of the second course and pay for a textbook that cost me $120 after asking me to take the course, and then fired me 9 months later. I was never going to win with that group of incompetent, unethical losers.)

      Then one person I know who is a programmer had a Mac and he had all kinds of trouble with his and poor support from Apple, so I was hesitant, but Apple makes it easy to change over and then having stability after the 3-year nightmare regarding Windows updates when they tried to force people to upgrade to Windows 10 was the last straw.

      Windows is good for many things, but their update facility has become intolerable and you can’t do an easy task without some interference or other. I felt sick in the store when I looked at the new Windows 10 machines, I couldn’t face it all again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

