Week 49: Shield

I used two shield-related things for this, a shield shape and a sketch of the Canadian Shield which is a rock formation that covers the Eastern part of Canada. I grew up boating on Georgian Bay and this sort of rocky scene is very familiar.

I was having fun drawing my own banners for this one. I started doing small wildflower sketches in drop caps on stationery for pen pals, and I liked doing them so much I put one above the shield to anchor the banner.

Up Geology!

Week49_Shield_JJ

Materials I used:

HB pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Faber-Castell PITT pen in sepia
Van Gogh watercolours

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

