Week 45: Chickasaw

I am finishing up the last eight sketches here from last year. It took me longer to get some equilibrium back and find all my supplies after I moved across the country.

I thought this was going to be really easy and I would find lots of photo references online for Chickasaw clothing, art, crafts etc. There was not much was available, at least not anything I was keen on drawing. The one I finally decided to draw was this gorget. I’ve heard of torcs worn around the neck but never gorgets, it was fascinating to learn about these and there are still Chickasaw artists making them today.

I recently bought a new gizmo, a Tombow Mono Zero eraser which you hold like a pencil and it has a micro-sized eraser head which is good for erasing highlights or just getting rid of pencil lines in tight spots. I used that on this drawing.

When searching for a suitable banner shape to draw, I was consulting a Dover clip art book that had one I liked. While looking at it, I realized it used a very easy technique for drawing it up. You simply draw the face of the ribbon in any shape or curve to fit the titling you want, and then fashion loops at the side and join them to the main ribbon with lines. What a kick.

Week45_Chickasaw_JJ

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell B, 4B, and 6B pencils
Tortillon
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s Lexington Gray ink
Faber-Castell Albrecht Dürer watercolour pencils

Seven more to go until I can start my next Sketch 52 project that I have planned. Bev finished them all for 2015 and I will be showing her excellent work in overviews for last November and December, as well as several pictures Rose did before she dropped out.

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 45: Chickasaw

  1. Your Mono Zero eraser sounds excellent! I’d never heard of Chickasaw art and crafts, is it from a particular region, or what differentiates it? That gorget looks lovely 🙂

    Like

    • The Chickasaw Nation are in Oklahoma now but I think they were generally living in the southestern woodlands in Mississippi, Alabama, Tennesee–around those States in the past.

      As with all indigenous tribes, they have their own fascinating arts and crafts. As far as what differentiates it, your guess is as good as mine, I could not find much information on them. Eastern woodland tribes differ from those found on the plains say, so maybe in general you could extrapolate a difference that way, but I was quite frustrated not to find specific examples or comparisons online.

      Oh, and the Tombow Mono eraser was cheap and so were the refills. I was very happy to stumble upon them at Amazon.ca. You are up early Chloe, I guess it’s your youngest waking you up again. Thanks for dropping by, hope you can get a nap sometime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

