Week 44: Nutcracker

In honour of my friend Rose, who was a professional ballet dancer, I made an attempt at drawing Clara and her Nutcracker from the ballet by Tchaikovsky.

I think my Clara is a tad on the chubby side but I did a fairly good job on the shoes, which I was pleased with because Rose draws the most wonderful ballet shoes.

I decided not to try to add facial features as I didn’t want to make her face a cartoon like the fingers were. I lose patience I’m afraid when drawing people. I vow to improve!

Week44_Nutcracker_JJ

I got a new Lamy Safari pen in a Neon Green colour and I finally got a waterproof green ink to use in sketching, so I was trying them out for the first time here.

Materials I used:

Faber-Castell HB pencil
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s General of the Armies ink.
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 44: Nutcracker

  1. Beverly King says:

    Color me green with envy at the way you can sketch and shade with a pen! 😀 The shoes, pleats and even the ribbon in her hair are magnificent. I don’t think she’s chubby; I imagine she’s wearing lots of petticoats underneath her dress. 🙂

    Like

    • That must be it Bev, they DID wear a lot of petticoats in the 19th century. (googly eyes)

      I consider myself pretty much of a hack with pen and ink but the practice does help. The main thing I find is to look at the lights and darks and folds, and just chip away at it.

      I had to do a pencil sketch first, but ideally I should be able to dash this off without a preliminary pencil drawing. Huge guffaw!

      Like

  2. Lovely drawing, very brave to do so in pen. Green ink is so exciting, I just bought some grey for my new white safari, but may have to venture further with my ink colours. Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

