Week 42: Buttery

Buttery, luttery, la-dee-da, everybody sing about butter.

Far past the boredom of drawing a package of butter, we have the joy of drawing an antique wooden butter mold.

Week42_Buttery_JJ

And now I feel like churning my own butter and putting little pats of it into different molds.

I have a book on crazy quilting where the author, Marsha Michler, made a quilt from rubbings of old butter molds that belonged to the guy who commissioned the quilt. It was gorgeous. Of course, when I went to buy an antique butter mold or stamp to try a similar thing, they were $200 each, so this was not an option for me, but wildly interesting nonetheless.

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Van Gogh watercolours
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils

No butter was harmed when drawing this sketch.

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Week 42: Buttery

  1. How beautiful, so much nicer than a plastic tub. Karen

    Like

  2. When I think of plastic tubs I think of the dreaded margarine. Yikes.

    Thanks Karen!

    Like

  3. Beverly King says:

    I had forgotten people used to make little pots of butter with impressions or designs in them. It seems most folks are in too much of a hurry to notice such details. This was a great idea for this sketch!

    Like

  4. LOL, love your sense of humor and this is photorealistic.

    Like

  5. Roseanne Dix says:

    Luscious drawing…..just want to drip my finger in there. Glad no butter harmed. You know how I am ….

    Like

Leave a Reply

