Week 40: Ink

This is a bottle of Pilot Iroshizuku ink in the Yama-Budo colourway. Yama-Budo is Japanese for Crimson Glory Vine, which is what we call the plant in English. It is a vigorous climbing plant with leaves that measure nine to twelve inches across, and they have small bluish purple grapes. The leaves turn a fantastic crimson/violet colour in the autumn. It is unbelievably beautiful.

So naturally I had to order a bottle for my fountain pens. It came all the way from Japan to Canada and took three weeks. I’ve tried various red and pink or magenta inks and they weren’t just right, but this one was. The bottles for these inks are highly respected as they are made of heavy glass and the well for the ink doesn’t go quite to the bottom so there are all kinds of reflections in the glass. It feels special and this was my first bottle of this brand of ink, so that will be a memory I treasure.

Week40_Ink_JJ

While waiting for this I kept approaching the spouse and shouting “Yama-Budo!!” or “Crimson Glory Vine!!” because the anticipation was so great. One of my pen pals got a bottle too so we were saying “Yama-Budo!” to each other in letters. What could be more expansive than that?

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Van Gogh watercolours

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 40: Ink

  1. Beverly King says:

    Yama-Budo! Love those colors! You’re such an excellent watercolorist.

    Like

    • Thanks Bev. I laid this out in coloured pencil first and then went over it with watercolour to punch it up. I needed more control at first to ensure that I left the reflections in the bottle. If I was really good at watercolour I would have splodged right in with it, but I tend to lose control for small things like this.

      That book I bought called “The Realism Challenge” by Mark Crilley has some good tutorials on drawing glass, which highlights (pun) the need to slow down and draw reflections as you see them. They are often rather strange, but if you slowly lay them down the thing turns out looking like glass. I have often had trouble with light in drawings, so I found that book very useful.

      Like

  2. chloetarot says:

    Ha ha, bet the spouse loved that – Yama Budo! Beautiful colours you have there, and as you say, it really looks like glass 🙂

    Like

  3. Roseanne Dix says:

    I have perpetual Ink-Envy. Lovely drawing too Judy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

