Week 39: Quarter

I liked this because it is a Drunkard’s Path style of patchwork but each quarter has a different arc so when you put them together, it’s kind of funky. I took the chair from another reference because I like this type of bentwood “ice cream chair” and own two of them myself.

I want to make that pillow!

Week39_Quarter_JJ

Materials I used:
Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Van Gogh watercolours
Lamy Safari pen with medium nib and Noodler’s Blue Upon the Plains of Abraham ink.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 39: Quarter

  1. Beverly King says:

    What a beautiful idea for quarter! I had to laugh when I saw you called it a “drunkard’s path” style of patchwork. If I tried quilting, it would probably come out looking just like that without even trying!

    Like

    • What, you are a good friend with Sharyn and you haven’t tried quilting???

      Have a try Bev…
      http://earlywomenmasters.net/quilts/d/drunkard/

      I made at least one of these blocks, sewn by hand for a sampler quilt, and I also made a full-size quilt with a modified arc that made an ogee shape–gave the book away and can’t remember the author’s name, but I made that about 25 years ago and machine quilted it for an Uncle. I sewed the arcs in that by hand too and then pieced them together on the machine.

      Books always say how easy this is to piece on the machine but I could never get the hang of it. I like hand piecing anyway so enjoyed trying the pattern. The top I made it for is called the “Love in a Mist Sampler Quilt” and I finished that 25 or 28 years ago. Still have to quilt it but I’m hoping to get some of the oldies done next year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

