Week 38: Green

I thought of green trees and then thought of chintz fabric, but then I remembered some crewel tree of life motifs, so I wanted to draw a green tree of life.

I used three books to help me with the way the flowers fit on the branches, and then eyeballed a few motifs and simplified them as I drew. None of them had this actual design but I like it so much that one day when I get the time, I might embroider it on a handbag or something. I was quite surprised how easy these patterns are to modify and make your own.

The books I used:

Crewel Embroidery: A Practical Guide by Shelagh Amor
Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery by Hazel Blomkamp
Crewel Intentions: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery by Hazel Blomkamp

When I drew this I just kept going after I drew basic branches. Part of the charm is that there is no scale or regularity, you just do what you want.

Week38_Green_JJ

Ye olde Tuscan Red for the tree trunk. 3.5 hours of time.

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Prismacolor coloured pencils
Staedtler Karat Aquarelle watercolour pencilsLamy Safari Pen with medium nib and Noodler’s Blue Upon the Plains of Abraham ink

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week 38: Green

  1. Beverly King says:

    I love your funky green tree of life! And you are all caught up now – well done my friend!
    You’re an ace of zentangling. 🙂

    Like

  2. chloetarot says:

    How fascinating, I’d never heard of creweling. Like Bev, my first thought was zentangle 😀 You’ve got some beautiful, subtle shading there – really lovely!

    Like

  3. Roseanne Dix says:

    OOh this is GORGEOUS !!! I still have your beautiful beaded tree of life pendant. It always gets interested comments when I wear it. Very precious to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

