Week 35: Chinaberry

I was so late with this I must credit both Rose and Bev with providing the inspiration for my picture as they sent me their images before I did mine. Rose did a lovely botanical watercolour and Bev did a drawing of a necklace made from Chinaberry seeds.

This is based on a pair of earrings I made about three weeks ago.

EarringInspiration

For my drawing I swapped out the glass beads at the bottom for Chinaberry seeds in their natural state. Then I drew the pattern on the cylindrical beads based on Chinaberry buds.

This became a good sketch for me as I delighted in the subject matter. If I ever get hold of some dried and drilled Chinaberry seeds, I will definitely make myself a similar pair of earrings in the real world.

Week35_Chinaberry_JJ

Materials I used:

Faber-Castel HB pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Van Gogh watercolours

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 35: Chinaberry

  1. Roseanne Dix says:

    ive still got all my beautiful earrings. Yours the essence of perfection and mine a frivolous mess.!!

    Like

    • I would never describe your art as “frivolous” Rose. You represent the ideal of staying loose to me when I’m in one of my uptight, perfectionist moods. I’m glad you are still wearing the earrings I sent. I still wear the necklaces I made with your beads. If your postal situation wasn’t so abyssmal, I would share more. It’s been three months now since I sent you a letter and it still hasn’t shown up in its hand drawn envelope. Sigh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

