Week 33: Implement

Yeah I know, I’m weeks behind. This was supposed to be done around August 17th. My original idea didn’t work but I kind of like this one.

I was bored with my original idea of using my own tea strainer which is a stainless steel ball. Then my secondary idea of making a sign like an advertisement was way too complicated. So I eventually pared it down to this which I like.

The implement is a ceramic tea strainer.

Week33_Implement_JJ

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Van Gogh watercolours
Faber-Castell PITT pen – sepia

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 33: Implement

  1. chloetarot says:

    That’s lovely! These ceramic tea strainers are so much more elegant than metal ones or teabags 😮 Makes me want to know more about the Red Clover Tea Ritual 🙂

    Like

    • I wish I could find a ceramic one. Up to now, the ritual has involved stuffing a dried red clover tea mix into my metal ball tea strainer.

      Originally I had planned to draw my actual tea mix with the dried flower heads but it is quite a dull colour and I liked the fresh one better with this picture.

      Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    That’s lovely! I especially like all the detail on your clover bloom. 🙂 As a hot tea lover, this sketch makes me smile.

    Like

    • Thanks Bev. Oh yes, I can just taste the infusion. Red Clover is my favourite of the herbal dried mixes I have.

      That bloom–took me a bit to figure out how to do it, but I used 3 colours and the coloured pencil allowed me to get some detail in the tips.

      Like

Leave a Reply

