Week 32: Cologne

The original photo reference for this was a Victorian ceramic piece with a sterling silver top. I coloured mine a soft green which you can see better on the bottom of the bottle. Both the camera and the scanner bleached the top out so you’ll have to use your imagination.

I gave the spider a red centre like a black widow spider.

Mwuahahahaha.

Week32_Cologne_JJ

I am behind again, but have a plan for the next prompt and hope to do it tomorrow.

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Black Micron 05 pen

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week 32: Cologne

  1. Beverly King says:

    The one cologne a man would definitely NOT buy for his wife, lol. 😀 Great idea for this one!

    Like

    • I was rather amazed that this was Victorian, but then I remember how keen on natural history and insects Victorians were so it makes sense. Still, it seemed a tad on the sinister side to me, as if indicating the snaring of helpless flies for food (or perhaps husbands!)

      I do wonder who used it and what the impetus was for making it. We shall never know but how intriguing to imagine.

      Like

  2. Roseanne Dix says:

    Ah ! what can I say. Just totally Judithily SUPERB.

    Like

  3. chloetarot says:

    Tee hee, I love it: delightfully creepy 😀 I love how you’ve got the shadow and shine on the neck of the bottle – really effective!

    Like

    • Thanks Chloe. It is a bit creepy, very modern Goth, which was why I was so surprised it was Victorian.

      For the top, I just started laying down pale grey, and then a medium grey, and then black, and generally followed what I saw in the photo. I left out a couple of distracting reflections and basically tried to suggest the roundness and curve with my pencils.

      Like

Leave a Reply

