Week 27: Abstract

I found it nearly impossible to get the colours right on this when scanning or taking a photograph.

I started with a watercolour background on a piece of Rives BFK, and then inked a flowery thing with a sample of homemade walnut ink that a thoughtful woman from Idaho sent me to try. I was using my dip pen for this; it was fascinating to use walnut ink that someone had prepared themselves.

The rest of the collage is scrapbooking paper and Canson Mi-Teintes paper.

Week27_Abstract_JJ

I enjoyed doing this but it was tedious to weight the piece in between layers of collage. It took me hours more because of that.

Materials I used:

HB pencil
Van Gogh watercolours
Walnut ink
Speedball Dip Pen with #512 Bowl Pointed Nib
Rives BFK paper
Canson Mi-Teintes paper: burgundy, tobacco, sand
Paper Pizazz Solid Muted Colors acid-free paper
Golden Soft Gel Medium

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 27: Abstract

  1. Beverly King says:

    Wow, you knocked this one out really fast! I like the collage, but I’m really interested in the walnut ink. Is it made from ground nuts or shells? Pretty cool, all the way around. 🙂

    Like

  2. chloetarot says:

    Wow, the walnut ink sounds amazing, and it came out beautifully! And while it might not have gone as fast as you thought, it looks like it was fun to do 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Chloe. I did another picture with the walnut ink but coloured it with coloured pencil and sent it to the woman who made the ink as a thank you. It really is interesting to use.

      Yes, it was fun. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

