Week 26: Pilaster

My column is a bit off-centre—must have been an earthquake. Okay, this is not ballpoint, it was done with my new bulletproof fountain pen ink. I like the grey ink I have but I wanted to add a blue one too.

This was a lot of fun once I gave up the strangulation of trying to represent every little detail and shadow perfectly symmetrically. Architects everywhere will be horrified at my attempt at Egg and Dart detailing but I suggested it. I think it’s a charming pilaster.

Week26_Pilaster_JJ

I am so late with this as we are trying to get some painting and packing done. I have a good idea for tomorrow so I am quite sure I shall catch up to Rose and Bev this week. Finally.

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s Blue Upon the Plains of Abraham ink

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 26: Pilaster

  1. Beverly King says:

    This turned out really well – especially with all that you’ve got going on. I have a hard time with architectural details, but you did great with this one. Wonderful work my friend. Abstract is giving me fits, lol.

    Like

    • I have a hard time with them too, and yet I love architecture. It requires a lot of patience to draw.

      Funny, Abstract is one I thought was easier because you can just splodge about, dashing colour here and there. You have to get the balance right and provide interest but it’s not going to require drawing skill.

      Like

Leave a Reply

