Week 22: Workbag

This is a needlework workbag. I didn’t quite get the initial sketch right but it looks okay. I thought I was successful in suggesting cross stitch for the motifs without getting too bogged down in drawing every cross stitch.

I had a week of intense pain and had wanted to more with this, including some small accessories but I couldn’t.

Week22_Workbag_JJ

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s Lexington Gray ink
Van Gogh watercolours
Prismacolor coloured pencils

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 22: Workbag

  1. Beverly King says:

    That’s how I know you’re so talented – you can sketch something wonderful like this even dealing with pain! I knew exactly what it was by the cross-stitching on the outside. I envy your ability to do such subtle shading with watercolor. Did you use the colored pencils for the embroidery?

    Like

    • Thanks Bev, that’s nice of you.

      I used the coloured pencils for the embroidery and a bit of extra shading on the dark brown fabric and drawstring sleeve. I have to keep reminding myself that it’s a sketch and that I don’t need every little detail in there.

      Like

  2. Lovely personal sketch of a much loved item, very touching. Sorry that you are in pain and hope it eases soon.

    Like

    • Thanks Sue. This was actually a photo reference I found online and it had the most charming needlecase and pincushion and I wanted to draw them all but it wasn’t the week for it. I was feeling better yesterday but then I had a fall so feeling tender still.

      I wish I did have a workbag like this. I saw a gorgeous one online that you can only buy if you take the course from a woman in California. The course if $345 USD so way out of my league. Have a look at this one, it’s down this page a bit:
      http://www.needlestack.com/classes/JDP_2014_October.html

      Like

      • Well it looks like you would love to have it then! The projects on the link look great I like the teardrop one. I’m not a great one for taking workshops or courses I always think I can spend the money on materials and books and work it out myself. Hope you are not so sore anymore. Sue

        Like

        • I agree about workshops, I tend to muddle along by myself and spend money on supplies.

          Yes Sue, i was tender today but managed to clean the kitchen and stove and sewwp behind the fridge and stove–all the hidden stuff!

          Like

Leave a Reply

