Week 21: Piebald

I was initially going to draw a magpie for this, but I kept seeing the most gorgeous looking snake while browsing for piebald references online, so I chose that.

This is a Piebald Ball Python (Python regius) and the unpigmented areas are caused by partial leucism or piebald effect. Leuc is the Latin variant of the Greek leukos meaning “white,” and it’s a natural mutation. While wonderful looking it doesn’t breed true and the ratio of white to pigmented areas varies a lot.

The normal snake is regularly patterned with the pumpkin-coloured pigment over it’s entire body but in this mutation you can see this gorgeous “pigment cell differentiation” that happens. I thought this was the neatest thing I’ve ever seen. I generally like snakes and find them interesting, I even have a card deck of photographs of various snake species, but this just knocked me out, I find it so beautiful.

Week21_Piebald_JJ

 

My sketch was almost exactly like the photo reference, I am much better at sketching after five months. I like that, I like the feeling that I can just sit down and sketch anything. It’s a bit hard to see this, my camera doesn’t seem to be working properly. The usual operator error perhaps? (I got a slightly better photo the next day and switched them.)

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil (Old Trusty I call him)
Van Gogh watercolours
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week 21: Piebald

  1. Roseanne Dix says:

    beautiful drawing Judith. Isnt it wonderful to know that you can draw anything?

    Like

    • Thanks Rose, what I like is that I don’t have this terrible dithering hesitation, I really can sit down confidently and draw.

      I’m still having problems with perspective, walls, buildings etc. but I shall plod along, hopefully to improve in that respect as well.

      Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    Oh gosh, I’m not a “snake” person, but the colors on this one are gorgeous! Well done you. 🙂 I always thought piebald was only a type of horse until I looked up the word. As my sketching gets more practice, my vocabulary is increasing too. 😀

    Like

    • Thank you Bev, I do enjoy drawing reptiles for some reason. Not a snake person, what kind of heresy is that??!!

      Yeah we get all kinds of learning on these prompts. Next up is “workbag” which could mean all kinds of deliciousy things.

      Like

      • Beverly King says:

        I think it comes from spending a few years living out in the middle of nowhere on a farm. It seemed like all the snake I saw were 6 to 8 feet long with rattles. Once I saw one have a puppy for a snack. I think that made me not a snake person!

        Like

        • Oh dear, a snake eating a puppy would definitely stay in your mind.

          Years ago I saw my Siamese cat Hog Wild playing with something in the garden, throwing it up and catching it, and it was a garter snake he’d killed. Tit for tat. Nature’s balance. 😉

          Like

Leave a Reply

