Week 19: Tibetan

I got the photo reference for this from the Art of Tibet Knowledge Cards, and then simplified the silver patterns slightly. This is a shell trumpet with silverwork made in 18th century Tibet. I thought it was gorgeous.

This was done in a grisaille technique with graphite, and then sprayed with fixative and tinted with coloured pencils.

Week19_Tibetan_JJ

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell 4B pencil
Tortillon
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Prismacolor coloured pencils
Krylon Workable Fixative

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 19: Tibetan

  1. Roseanne Dix says:

    OOH yes this is beautiful. can feel its tactility (new word). Lovely work Judy. Don’t you just love our diversity – from a yak to a glorious jewel.

    Like

    • I really enjoyed doing this Rose. The original work of art is only about 6.5 inches or about 16 cm–amazing silver work.

      I DO love our diversity. After next week I’ll put up another monthly overview and comparison of our work–it,s so neat to see all the different interpretations.

      Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    The shell trumpet is gorgeous, as is with your rendering of it. You have some mad skills with that graphite pencil, woman. Simply lovely!
    (I had to go look up “tortillon” and see what it was.)

    Like

    • I’ve always loved using graphite but couldn’t settle on a brand of pencil until I found the Faber-Castell ones. Years ago at the Ontario Science Centre in Toronto they had an exhibition of small clay models Michaelangelo made and a friend and I went there and sketched them. I was pretty good, so part of our sketchbook journey is getting my skills back.

      Thanks! Get thee a tortillon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

