Week 18: Zipper

I got a bit sidetracked making myself a Fauxdori (Midori knock-off) leather journal and cutting and sewing my own inserts. I went to the art store yesterday and got some different colours of Canson Mi-Teintes to use for covers and some Rives BFK and Somerset Satin paper for the inserts. I’m also using some Stonehenge paper from my stash. I’ve never tried the Somerset paper before so I’m interested to see how it works with different media.

This is Charles, whom I had to tear away from an antique shop where he was trying to get the owner to reduce the price on some Meissen plates. Give it up Charles, these people never reduce prices.

He was going to protest but I told him to keep it zipped.

Week18_Zipper_JJ

The actual model for this was Parson’s Chameleon (Calumma parsonii) from a lovely book I have of photographs of reptiles and amphibians.

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Van Gogh Watercolours
Lamy Safari Pen with Noodler’s Lexington Gray ink
Micron Black 03 and 05 pens

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 18: Zipper

  1. chloetarot says:

    Hilarious! And the watercolours and inking came out really well, too. He’s like a cyber-chameleon 😀

    Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    Wow, you’re chameleon looks great – zipper and all! I envy your ink and watercolor talents! 😀 I need to find out how to apply such a zipper as Charles has.

    Like

    • Thanks Bev. I just keep plugging away, sometimes they work, sometimes not. I’m trying to be looser with the watercolour washes.

      I think you need a nod to natural selection to get a zipper like that. VBG

      Like

  3. Roseanne Dix says:

    BRILLIANT ! I would never have thought of that. Love it Jude. SOOO out the box.

    Like

    • Thanks, I’m trying to be looooser Rose! I keep thinking “How would Rose do this?” and I think part of my problem is that I’m afraid to do really wet washes. So I’m trying to splodge about more. I used a larger 6 brush instead of my small 1 brush.

      Like

Leave a Reply

