Week 16: Twist

“Come on let’s twist again, like we did last summer…” Yeah, channelling Chubby Checker and beehive hairdos.

Week16_Twist_JJ

I ran out of room on the page and my photo reference for the left hand was incomplete so that’s a bit iffy, but I tried.

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H Pencil
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s Lexington Gray ink

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 16: Twist

  1. Beverly King says:

    This fantastic – from the swishing skirt and hips to the beehive do! This looks like it was quite a time investment. You should be proud of this one!

    Like

  2. You know what I’ve noticed with these drawings? I usually get the reference or idea early in the week and then draw it toward the latter part of the week, sometimes on the last day. BUT, I think it’s a bit like Psycho-Cybernetics where I am picturing in my mind for days how I want to do this and what colours or elements I want to add. Then on the day it just flows out.

    I did a basic pencil sketch and then did most of the inking freehand. I think I spent about 2 hours on it. I’m not quite sure because once I started the inking and got “in the flow” literally, I lost track of time.

    Thanks Bev!

    Like

  3. Roseanne Dix says:

    hey hey love the beehive. way “”out the box””….yep that was me way back when. Lovely work Jude.

    Like

Leave a Reply

