Week 11: Lyre

I was originally going to draw Apollo and his lyre and then I thought “Apollo’s Lyre” sounds like the name of a pub. Famous last words; this took me about nine hours to draw and colour, as it was very fiddly. Along the way I started to call this “The Grape & Lyre” and then realizing I wouldn’t have room for that much lettering or a grape vine I changed it to “The Green Lyre.”

After I did the wrought iron work on top and drew out the dimensions of the sign, I realized that I was left with a more square shape rather than rectangular. So I just went with that and realized (yet again) that what I draw becomes believable, just because that’s the way it works.

This was the first time I’ve used the Lamy Safari pen for inking a piece of art and it went beautifully. It has a softer feel to it than the Pilot Metropolitan I previously tried to use, so it doesn’t hurt my hand as much to do linework or hatching with it.

I also had to keep reminding myself that this was a sketch not a watercolour painting. Nine hours. Perfectionistic goofball, let it go!!

Week11_Lyre_JJ

Materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Staedtler Karat Aquarelle watercolour pencils
Van Gogh watercolours
Prismacolor coloured pencils
Lamy Safari pen with Noodler’s Lexington Gray ink

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 11: Lyre

  1. Beverly King says:

    I love the way your mind works. I’m always amazed at your artistic play with the prompt each week. 🙂 The wrought iron looks wonderful as does the sign!

    Like

  2. Roseanne Dix says:

    Fabulous as always Jude – Great idea and great art work

    Like

  3. chloetarot says:

    I agree, that iron mongery is great! Still, I don’t know where you find the patience – 9 hours is a lot of dedication 🙂

    Like

    • I did it over three days–had no idea it would take that long. Part of it is just me being a slowpoke and part of it was the size of the piece. My arm is killing me now as it was too big, but that’s what happens when you sketch, you just get at it, it’s approximate.

      In looking at it here, it looks very simple but the details were small.

      Like

Leave a Reply

