Week 10: Meissen

When I was looking online for Meissen porcelain, I was struck by some of the tiny florals against white and thought the cutlery I chose to draw would look really good on Canson Mi-Teintes paper.

I originally chose blue and marked the newsprint I was sketching on with those dimensions so it would fit on this scrap paper. Oh dear, I couldn’t see the lines of my sketch through the paper when it was on my lightbox. So I picked a different colour, a nice rich orange, and used that. Serendipity strikes again.

SketchTransfer

In the end it did look nicer on the orange I think because it picks up subtle tints in the flowers on the handles. You can see my lines where I had the size and midpoints all worked out, and then I go over the main part with a Sharpie so I can see the lines with my lightbox. I transferred my drawing with a light grey coloured pencil.

I love gouache when the painting is over, but I still find it hard to handle. The smallest brush I have is a “0” round and it wasn’t small enough for some tiny details so I filled them in with coloured pencils. I also did the drop shadow with a coloured pencil. The flowers were done with coloured pencils—that was fun.  If you look at it from a distance it looks almost three dimensional due to the contrast of the gouache against the paper and the shading.

Week10_Meissen_JJ2

I still have to trim it and make photo corners to mount it in my journal, and spray it with fixative, but I wanted to post it as I don’t want to let my compatriots in the Celestial City of Imagination down by being too late.

Later that day….

Week10_Meissen_JJ3

The materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Prismacolor Coloured Pencils
Reeves Gouache
Canson Mi-Teintes paper

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 10: Meissen

  1. Beverly King says:

    Wow, the cutlery looks GREAT on that orange background, as if the pieces are lying on an orange napkin. The background color makes them “pop out,” giving them even more of a 3 dimensional look. The CCI officially gives you a medal of honor for this one. 😀

    Like

  2. Thanks Bev! To me it was another little nod to let things go or let things happen and stop trying to be perfect.

    Like

  3. chloetarot says:

    Wow, very impressive! Though I wouldn’t want to actually use that cutlery, it looks both sharp and delicate:/

    Like

  4. Thanks Chloe. I always liked cutlery like this but I think you’d have to be the type of person who entertains and has dinner parties. I don’t think they make this sort of cutlery these days, way too posh for most of us.

    Like

  5. Roseanne Dix says:

    Only one word – SUPERB.

    Like

Leave a Reply

