Week 8: Shaker

While I was drawing this they were playing the Steely Dan song on the radio, Babylon Sisters, which made me smile when applied to these two sister salt shakers.

The shaker on the left is my interpretation of a Portmeirion Botanic Garden design, and the one on the right is some nameless bit of pottery, perhaps Italian or Turkish, but I liked the colours.

It’s hard to get white objects showing up against white paper but with a Warm Grey coloured pencil and some Payne’s Grey watercolour for shading it seemed okay.

I did the trick of sprinkling salt granules on the wet watercolour. The colour might have been a bit stronger than I wanted but that’s sketching for you. I really, really wanted to use some actual salt on this and have it show up.

Week8_Shaker_JJ

The materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Staedtler Karat Aquarelle watercolour pencils
Van Gogh watercolours
Salt

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Week 8: Shaker

  1. Beverly King says:

    Gorgeous shakers with their bright colors, and of course I love the “salted” page! 😀 Black and white subjects both are hard for me to draw with definition and shape. Excellent job my friend, but now I’m hearing that Taylor Swift song in my head….

    Like

  2. No, no, no, no, this is a Taylor-free Zone Bev. Only Steely Dan tracks today.

    Thanks, I love ceramics, and tend to like ones with artsy or botanical painting.

    Like

  3. Roseanne Dix says:

    Oh Judith, this is FABULOUS. Just love it. the swish of blue – such wonderful movement. This is really clever. WONDERFUL. LOVE IT> !!!

    Like

  4. chloetarot says:

    I love the cleverness of really using salt on the watercolour bit in the middle 😀 And I especially like the shaker on the left, with its delicate flowers. The whole composition is lovely!

    Like

    • Thanks Chloe. We rarely use salt in anything, so I only had my old wooden salt and pepper set that is 38 years-old. I wanted to draw something prettier and I like ceramics so hunted up photos of these two objects.

      When you draw something, you never get the pattern exactly right, but I just stayed loose and laid down the flowers and leaves approximately.

      Years ago I used to buy old dinner plates from the 19th and early 20th centuries and hang them on the wall. We couldn’t afford framed art so that was my solution. Last year I culled them all except for 7 plates. I love china and place settings, all that stuff.

      Like

  5. Ellen says:

    Hi JJ
    I’ve found your blogs via Bev’s blog. She told me about your weekly sketch prompts. I love what I’ve seen so far and am tempted to jump aboard.
    Where would we be without salt 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

