Week 7: Retrieve

Another week of live and learn!

I lost patience with myself trying to get the angles of a house behind the dog and left it for days, eventually ending up tracing it, which is obvious.

The trouble with tracing is that you lose that wonderful spontaneity and hand drawn look and miss details altogether. I inked this with a Pilot Metropolitan fountain pen with Waterman Absolute Brown in it. The ink drawing for the dog was nice but when I wet it to wash it a bit with brown I got into trouble. Then I put some watercolour on and more trouble, the whole thing got a bit muddied. So then I went over and tidied it up with regular coloured pencil. Overworked.

However, I did learn not to wash this ink, at least on small, detailed work. It might be good on a big, splashy leaf or something. I like the dog though, it looks like my first Labrador, Winnie. I liked inking this, I must practice so I can ink stuff without pencil lines. The house was never going to work because I traced it, but the dog looked pretty good before I wet things.

Week7Retrieve_JJ

Materials used:

Faber-Castell HB and 4B pencils
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Staedtler Karat Aquarelle watercolour pencils
Waterman Absolute Brown ink
Pilot Metropolitan fountain pen

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 7: Retrieve

  1. chloetarot says:

    One thing that has intrigued me so far with this process is how you inspire a sketch from a word. For example, I wouldn’t have gotten anything from “Discography”, I don’t think. Retrieve, though, makes me think of shaman’s working to retrieve lost parts of someone’s soul. Of course, I wouldn’t have a hope in hell of actually sketching that, but at least I have a visual in my mind 😀 And here, you’ve retrieved a memory of Winnie – lovely!

    Like

    • Years ago (when I met Rose who is working with me on this) we used to join graphics group where they would post an image to work with. You would have to come up with your own image in response. Very often this involved words too and meaning, so we got used to it.

      The word interpretation is so wide, so limitless that it really makes an exercise like this fascinating. Rose and Bev and I are all loving it, even on the weeks we don’t achieve perfection.

      Dear Winnie came to me in 1987–my first dog. I’d wanted a dog since I was a child but my family all hate dogs, particularly my Dad, who once told me to kill all my pets so I could move into a condo. So when we got a house with a yard and I wasn’t working, I got my dog!!

      Oooh, what a neat idea to have a shaman retrieving lost parts of the soul. Bev did a dog retrieving in water for this, and Rose did an old suitcase with collaged paper “clothes” spilling out of it. Retrieving lost suitcases from airlines is also a fab-oh interpretation. Both really good–there is just something about seeing someone’s art that is appealing.

      Like

      • chloetarot says:

        We sadly can’t have pets at the moment because my elder boy is severely allergic to almost everything. However, we would if we could. Can’t believe your dad was so anti-animals! Ah well… And yes, I’m starting to see how open to interpretation this word inspiration is. Not that I can join you in sketching, no skills, no time. Still, it’s an interesting mental exercise, too 😀

        Like

        • That’s a shame about not being able to have pets. I have allergies to cats but can manage having one or two.

          No time? People can find ten minutes a day. If you did that, it’s 3650 minutes per year which is 60 hours. 60 hours of practice–imagine how you would improve! I wish you would join in. Ten minutes over 6 days (one day off per week) is a whole hour. Trust me, you could do it.

          Think about it, okay? Ten minutes.

          Sally Warner in her book “Making Room of Making Art” talks about having children and no room, so she set up a closet with an art table and went in there for 10 minutes per day. She did small pictures, maybe 50 mm or so and she was able to make art. Amazing story. It gives hope to us all.

          Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    That is the perfect picture of a lab with a ball hanging to the side of its mouth! And your house looks just fine. I like the brown ink you used; it makes the drawing feel like something out of an old children’s book. “See Spot. Spot wants to play. Where is Dick and Jane?” (I can’t believe that was what the schools used to teach us to read with, lol).

    Like

    • I like the brown ink too. I never like the colour brown but this has tones of red in it. It worked well on the paper with the pen, I enjoyed it so much.

      Oh yes, I remember the toned Dick and Jane books. There was also an old reader called “Mr. Whiskers” that I loved that was tinted. I guess it was cheaper to print monotone books, but I liked them in any case. I don’t suppose you got Mr.Whiskers Bev? I think the author was John McInnes–probably just a Canadian reader. Mine was circa 1963. Pinkish tones.

      Like

Leave a Reply

