Week 6: Peanut

I find it hard to get the contrast in watercolour, which is often something beginners do  This is something I want to work on, but the paper was starting to shred under the peanut so I figured that was enough. You can’t quite see the details in the peanut flowers, they are like tiny orchids and there are stripey bits around the inner petal.

Week6_PeanutFlower

 

Week6_Peanut_JJ

My continual refrain to pull myself back from overworking it: “It’s a sketch, not a watercolour painting!” Darn, I just noticed that the flowers are out of scale (too big) in relation to the leaves. Some of them anyway. I was trying to fit everything on the oval for a vine. It’s an interpretation I suppose rather than photo-realism.

The materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Van Gogh watercolours
Prismacolor coloured pencils
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Staedtler Karat Aquarelle watercolour pencils

 

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 6: Peanut

  1. Beverly King says:

    You have such an eye for detail as well as the whole. I’m like the person who brings home a framed picture I like, versus an interior designer who could make all the room look “together.” I shall be ashamed to show you my peanut this week, lol! I worked for a year in a federal lab testing peanut samples from fields for aflatoxin from dusk to dawn for a year. I thought I would never eat anything labeled peanut again! It was pure grunt work mostly, but an interesting side of farming most people don’t see.

    Like

  2. I loved your Peanut sketch. No shame at all, it was a good drawing and that paper bag was wonderful.

    You are FULL of interesting stories. Imagine working in a lab testing peanuts for carcinogens, I am bowled over.

    Like

  3. tarottiferet says:

    I think this image is beautiful. Correct scale or not, I think it’s more than a sketch. Great work! So decorative, which is your style.

    Like

Leave a Reply

