Week 3: Clove

This is me trying to be loose! The tin and the dried cloves are my own, I had them laid out on a sheet of white paper to draw. Tea was originally in the tin and the graphics in the blue frames were way too complicated to try to paint in a sketch so I redid it as a clove tin. it took me several tries to get the perspective right and it’s still a bit off but as I keep telling myself: “It’s a sketch not a photo-realistic painting.”

My lettering needed to be bigger. Where is Photoshop when I need it? I find myself thinking of Photoshop quite often as I draw. Punching up the saturation and redoing the shadows is so easy digitally, as is using lovely fonts and putting them on a curve.

The reference for the real clove flowers came from the Internet and I was trying to blob down some loose watercolour but I overworked it and then went in with coloured pencil to get back some definition. I need to work on relaxing.

Week3_Clove_JJ

Cloves are the aromatic flower buds of a tree Syzygium aromaticum. They are native to the Maluku Islands in Indonesia, and are commercially harvested in Indonesia, India, Tanzania, Madagascar, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

The dried ones I used have been in the cupboard for years but they still smelled beautiful when I took some out of the bag to draw.

The materials I used:

Staedtler 2H pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Van Gogh watercolours
Black Micron pen (for signing)

 

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 3: Clove

  1. Roseanne Dix says:

    what a delightful picture you have made. Im fascinated by your Syzygium…..we have S cordatum
    gerrrardi and pondoense….fruit absolutely nothing like a clove. How strange. Flowers, too are totally different. I wonder where the Syzygium link comes in. Must find out.

    Like

    • I assumed it was the name of a person but it’s a whole genus so unlikely. I finally found it, and it comes from the Greek:

      “The botanical genus name Syzygium derives from Greek syn [σύν] together, with and zygon [ζυγόν] yoke (from zeug­nynai​ [ζευγνύναι] join). The name refers to the petals, which are merged (joined) into a cap-like structure.”

      Clove comes from the Latin “clovus” which means nail–makes sense.

      Like

    • Oh and thanks for your nice comment on the picture–I had fun with it, although not perfect. Still hoping that after 52 weeks I will notice an improvement. I enjoy trying to do up a composition with these words–makes it more fun and also takes an entire week to bring to fruition usually.

      Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    It’s amazing to me how you can do such a simple picture and have it turn out so lovely. 🙂
    Speaking of herbs, maybe you could use some to help you relax. I’ve found a brand of tea (Yogi) that makes a blend called Lavender and Honey that is excellent for de-stressing and sleep!

    Like

    • That’s so nice of you Bev. I got used to doing little pictures digitally years ago and found I liked to make a little story, so it seems to have carried into my drawing.

      We do have Yogi tea at the local grocery. My husband doesn’t remember seeing the lavender and honey but he’ll check next time. Thanks.

      OMG now we get to do “Discography”–I’ve got an idea but having the skill to pull it off is another thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

