Week 1: Cornbread

It went pretty well apart from my attack of severe tendinitis. I had planned to do the plate the bread was on, but it was an octagonal plate and I couldn’t get the dimensions right. I had also planned to use a plaid tea towel in the background, but with the tendinitis I was lucky to get the main subject done.

This took me three hours. In time I hope to improve that and be able to add the details I want for a fuller composition. I should have used a paper template to protect the background when I spritzed the chocolate colour with a toothbrush.

Week1_Cornbread

I’m using a small cartouche using an Ouroboros stamp with the information for the weekly sketch inside.

Cartouche_JJ

The materials I used:

Faber-Castell HB pencil
Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils
Prismacolor coloured pencils
Van Gogh tube watercolours
Staedtler Karat Aquarell watercolour pencils
Black Micron pen

This entry was posted in Sketch 52 for 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 1: Cornbread

  1. Beverly King says:

    My goodness, you are an excellent artist! The cornbread looks great (both the “real” and drawn versions). The ourboros stamp is a brilliant idea. 🙂 I’m still trying to dig out/find my art supplies, but haven’t given up on getting back into it.

    Like

    • Thanks Bev, some days I am a good artist but I don’t practice enough. I should have been able to dash off the plate the cornbread was sitting on and I couldn’t come to grips with it.

      So gradually I hope to improve to the point where everything I sketch looks like what it’s supposed to be.

      Like

  2. Beverly King says:

    What’s the second prompt? I can’t find the list anymore… Or are we supposed to come up with our own?

    Like

Leave a Reply

